Great House and Hosts - Superb Fishing - Highly Recommend this Place for All Age Groups
Rated: 5 Stars of 5
Guest: FisherNuts
Date of stay 05/10/13
Review Submitted 05/22/13
A group of our Floridian fishing guides spent a great 3-day weekend in Homosassa thanks to Gary and Joanne. They were awesome helping us from when we arrived until we had to go back to work. The house was just right for our group. The beds and pull out couches were comfortable. There was plentiful pillows, towels, and that kind of stuff. The grill and the screened back porch was perfect for our needs. We fished Ozello and the St Martins River, the Homosassa River and the Halls River during our stay. The waters were all beautiful and the fishing was superb.
On a side note, the day we arrived one of our group cast a line in the lake behind the house and caught two 4+ pound bass in less than 10 minutes. (The bass were immediately released back into the lake.) By the number of nursing beds in the lake (and the school of shiners) it will be well stocked with bass and other fish for future guests for many many years to come.
Thanks again Gary and Joanne. You can bet your sweet bippy that we'll be back.
Recommended for: Families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, age 55+, tourists without a car, adventure seekers.
Perfect Vacation House!
Rated: 5 Stars of 5
Guest: Justine (family of 4)
Date of stay 04/08/13
Review Submitted 05/14/13
Our family stayed for 11 wonderful nights at this awesome vacation house. We can't wait to go back!
The owners were very friendly and helpful. The house was stocked with everything we needed. The sheets and towels were crisp and clean!!!! All the furniture was in perfect condition and very comfortable. We couldn't have found a better place for our family to stay - it felt like home from the moment we walked in the door.
The location was perfect. A huge lake filled with all kinds of fish is right outside the back door. The owner made our son a bamboo cane fishing pole which he used to catch lots of fish in the lake. He was so excited. The river this house is located on is best described as "Old Florida".  It was wonderful. There is a large fresh water spring a few minutes paddle from the house and the water is crystal clear. We saw manatee and all kinds of birds, crabs and fish. We took our small bass boat from the house to Monkey Island on the Homosassa River. It was a perfect day, one of the best days of my life. Another day we rented a pontoon boat and went out to the Gulf.
The house itself is close to the main highway which we loved because it made trips to the store, theme parks, and other excursions by car so much quicker and easier. You'd never guess this beautiful property is so close to everything when you are there though because you are surrounded by water and nature.
Our family highly recommends this vacation home for other families and sincerely thanks the owners for sharing their wonderful home with us. We can't wait to go back!!!
Recommended for: Families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing, age 55+, tourists without a car.




Beautiful spot. House is clean, comfortable and inviting. We will definitely be back!
Rated: 5 Stars of 5
Guest: Jones and Grace
Date of stay 03/20/13
Review Submitted 03/27/13
This is one of the most beautiful spots we've ever been to in Florida, and we're natives. Peaceful, beautiful, clean and  comfortable. The owners had the indoor fireplace set up for us when we arrived. The fire burned for hours, kept the house at the perfect warmth and was beautiful to watch. The next morning we ventured out on the river on the canoe that comes with the rental. Other than a quick trip back to the house for food and water we stayed out on the river until after dark. We saw otter, manatee, and many different kinds of birds both native and migratory. On more than one occasion fish almost jumped right into the canoe! The sunset and twilight sky were amazing sights to behold. After it turned dark we thought we would hurry back to the house but that wasn't the case at all. The water took on the appearance of a sheet of glass and it was like looking into a never-ending fish bowl with all kinds of fish, crabs and turtles swimming around. Our only regret is that we didn't find this place sooner so we could have stayed for longer. We will definitely be back!

Listing accurate? Yes
Photos accurately reflect rental's appearance and amenities? Yes
Property clean and well-maintained? Yes
Owner helpful in answering questions? Yes
Recommend this property to others? Yes
Nearby activities and restaurants we recommend: Homosassa State Wildlife Park, Homosassa Butterfuly Attraction and Neon Leon's Restaurant
Recommended for: Families with young children, families with teenagers, pet owners, romantic getaway, age 55+, tourists without a car, adventure seekers, girls getaway.



ADORABLE (river/lakefront) HOMOSASSA COTTAGE
Rated: 5 Stars of 5
Guest: Tulupita
Date of stay 03/23/13
Review Submitted 03/26/13
This is a cozy but roomy little house. It is very bright and airy, all tastefully done in a lovely nautical decor. I felt like we were transported into a Bed & Breakfast in New England but with the beauty of the crystal clear Florida waters (and weather) front & back, birds & butterflies all around us.
My husband loved the fishing, and I enjoyed looking at the huge lit fountain in the lake.
Very romantic, very affordable!
All rooms were exceptionally clean (no funny smells), with good quality linen, and the kitchen looked brand-new!
The location is excellent because this is in a cul-de-sac, quietly nested in the woods. Yet we had all the convenience of the downtown area within 3 minutes drive!
>>>>> We'll definitely be back! <<<<<<
A heartfelt THANK YOU to the wonderful Cottage Caretakers!
SAB & LAS
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing, age 55+, adventure seekers.

Copyright @ 2013 RiverLakeCottage.com
  Riverlake Cottage
Guest Reviews Submitted through VRBO.com and HomeAway.com
Wonderful getaway...

Rated: 5 Stars of 5
Date of Stay: May 2013
Review Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
    My Fiancée and I absolutely loved our stay there. Manatees were in the river all weekend and fishing straight from the bank was great. Landed a 3 lb bass one morning on plastic worm and caught many smaller bass. Bed in the master bed room was amazing. Owners were very friendly.
    We definitely will be coming back soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Photo submitted by Guest
**This page has reviews submitted by Guests through VRBO and Homeaway.
To view journal entries handwritten by guests in
the Riverlake Cottage Guest Book please click here.